top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Our Labor and Delivery Story

On May 20th, 2022, (her due date) at 10:19PM, I held my little girl in my arms for the first time. She was perfect. 8lbs 6oz, 22 inches long, a calm and happy little baby girl. I could not believe I was finally a Momma!


But let's rewind a little, shall we?


4:30AM: I was woken up by possible contractions. After laying there for an hour to make sure what was happening, I woke my husband up. He was clearly not awake and said with a pat on my leg, "You're okaaay." When I told him it had been happening for an hour, he jumps up to a sitting position and asks, "How far apart are they?!?"


5:45AM: I call my Mother and ask her to come braid my hair before we head to the hospital.


6:30AM: My Mom helps my husband get me to the car. Throughout my entire pregnancy, if I didn't have breakfast, I felt terrible ALL day. So what did we do? We went through Wendy's and got breakfast. It was SO GOOD! And I knew once I got there, I would get no food unless it was chicken broth or jello.


6:50AM: We arrive at the hospital. After sitting in the car and finishing my breakfast, we head inside. A nice man at the door wheeled me up to the delivery floor with my husband right behind him.


From 7AM-1PM was pretty much a blur for me. People checking on me and paperwork. All my mind was on was contractions and meeting my baby girl.


1:00PM: Things started getting rough for me. My doctor came in and said she was leaving at 2pm and another doctor was taking over. The idea of a natural birth with no medication was becoming too much for me. I was realizing that all this was beginning to weigh on my husband. I had had a conversation with him about not getting medication help for the labor, and asked him to push me as far as I could before I gave in. He did very well!


3:00PM: From 1PM to now I've been asking my husband to let them give me an epidural. But because I asked him and his love for me, he pushed me and pushed me to do what I wanted and asked for. And I love him so much for that! But I couldn't go anymore.. They put orders in for my epidural.


4:00PM: Nurse comes in and tells me the anesthesiologist has an emergency C-section and will be in as soon as possible.


5:00PM: Nurse comes in and says he has been delayed again, he'll be here soon.


5:30PM: My husband asks me if I want my Mother to come. All I remember telling him was, "I don't care." So he calls her. Shortly after that, the anesthesiologist comes in. My husband leaves to get my Mom who has arrived downstairs.


5:45PM: I call my husband and tell him they can come back up. And I am feeling amazing! My Mom, Husband and I had a party until 9:45PM, when I am allowed to start pushing.


Without all the gory details....within 45 minutes, 9 pushes, my little girl had arrived into this world. And we surprised the doctor with how fast we did it!


10:19PM: I'm holding my baby girl in my arms. The happiest moment of my life.



 


It was an experience I will never forget. Every pain and hard time was worth every second of it.


Did I have a perfect pregnancy and labor? No.


Did everything go as I planned? No.


Do I regret anything I did or changed through it all? No.


I have a happy and healthy baby girl, I couldn't ask for anything more. 💗


Thank you, Jesus, for helping me through this journey and giving me the best gift ever from it.



I love you Emma-Joy Renay! Our little sunflower. ♥️




159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It Matters, Momma

Living a life with a infant is a whole new level of "I'm busy, I'll get to it later".

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page