top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

It’s His Business

In the previous few months of my of life I have gone from courting to engaged, then engaged to married! I’ve traded my single life and public job for a life on the road with my husband as missionaries. And life could not get any better!


I have grown and learned so much in just a few weeks. I have had to come even further out of my comfort zone than normal and, surprisingly, I am loving it!


But let’s go back about a week or so ago...


Zane (my husband) and I were talking one night, and with my crazy over thinking self, had a melt down. I have never thought I would be a missionary wife. That was the farthest thing from my mind. I have grown up knowing dozen and dozens of them and they all looked to me as if they have it all together and know everything they need to know about the Bible. So, my brain took it upon its self to panic and tell me I could not do it.


I am an introvert that extremely dislikes crowds and meeting new people. Two things, as a missionary wife, I will be involved with a lot. That scared me.

...What if I said the wrong things?

...What if I didn’t look the part?

...What if someone asked me a bible question I don’t have the answer to?

...What would people think of me?


That is only some of the many questions my brain was throwing at me and I believed them all. I sat there spilling out every thought and assumption I had about my situation. Tears raining down my face, I was trapped in the cell my brain stuck me in and I couldn’t get out.

Until Zane said this, “God chose you to be my wife. He chose you for this position. He chose you to be the missionary wife. He knew you were right for this and you can do this. It’s not anyone else’s business, it’s His business. You go and do what God wants you to do and it doesn’t matter what everyone else thinks.”


Wow.

It’s a great thing to be married to a preacher. I needed that advice. I am not here to prove myself to anyone, about anything. The Creator of the universe chose me to be a missionary wife! God Himself... So why in the world would I question that?

But do you ever feel overwhelmed and not sure you can do what you’ve been called to do? Like you’re not good enough, like there’s someone better for the job?

No, stop right there!


If God called you to do something...mission field, sunday school teacher, preacher, church kids bus route...missionary wife, whatever it may be. Then He knew you were the right one who could do it. He chose YOU for the job. Just like He chose me to be the wife of a missionary.

God. Chose. You.

That night I gave into the lies I was telling myself instead of what God was telling me. But now, I have been ignoring all my lies and focusing on doing God’s will for my life. He chose me personally to be a missionary wife and I am welcoming it with open arms, expecting Him to do great and amazing things through this.


Now, I understand that missionary wives are only human and do not have it all together, no one on this earth does. We are all taking it one day at a time, living for God and doing His work. Learning as we go through all the different things we face.

So, ignore your lies and pay attention to the One who chose you and His will for your life. We may think our way is better... We may say, ‘Pick someone else, Lord, I can’t do this.’ But we can, because He knew we could before the world was even created.

He has great plans for you and the work He’s called you to do.

You ready for it?


Isaiah 55:8-9 KJV

[8] For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. [9] For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Year # 2

Year #1

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page