top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Ephesians pt 5: I am Loved

Growing up as a child, it seemed like I was sick with a cold or stomach virus often.


One thing I vividly remember about being sick was my Dad or Grandpa Vernon holding me and saying, "I wish it was me that was sick and not you."


They were verbalizing how much they loved me. And that always made me feel a little better, even though I was sick as a dog. Laying there coughing my head off or throwing up constantly, knowing that they would switch me places in a heartbeat, because they loved me, made it easier.


Eph. 1:4 KJV

"According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:"


Question: What does it mean to be loved?


In this verse, 'love' means: In the Greek, agapē (ag-ah'-pay): love that is affection or benevolence; specifically (plural) a love feast: -(feast of) charity ([-ably]), dear love.


(This form of love is mentioned 116 times in the KJV bible)


John 3:16 KJV

"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."


Answer: I started digging into verse to show the example of agapē love, and there really isn't any that shows it quite like John 3:16.


God so loved the world (you and I), that He gave Jesus to become our sin, become our sacrifice, to become our way of escape. So that we would have a way to everlasting life with Him in Heaven, escaping the torments of Hell.


2 Corinthians 5:21 KJV

"For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him."


Why would an Almighty sinless God, lower Himself so much, to become the sins of the world...just so I could be saved?


Because He loves me!


My Dad and Grandpa wanted to take my place when I was sick...but sadly, they couldn't. But my heavenly Father is all powerful and did take my place!


Because He LOVES me.


1 John 4:16 KJV

"And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him."


Oh I believe that love, I can't comprehend it...but it dwells within me and I in Him. <3


Thank you, God, for loving me so!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page