top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Ephesians pt 2: I am Chosen

Updated: Mar 31, 2022

Being in public school for the first five years of my educating years, showed me a lot of things in life. For example... School yard style team picking.


I absolutely hated when gym revolved around games with teams. I was no runner, I wasn't even that athletic at all growing up. Yes, I played outside, rode a bike, got dirty....but was not a fan of sports. I, my lovely reader, was no runner or competitive little girl. (Unless it came to beating my brother at something at home.) The only sport I played in my elementary school years, was T-ball, and I quit just a couple weeks into it because it involved running. This girl didn't run...unless it was from my brother's evil, psychotic rooster. But that's a story for another time! (Stay tuned.)


As the great Paul of the bible would say, "I lie not" when I say I was last to be picked with every school yard pick.


The. Very. Last.


No one wanted me on their team, I stunk. Can I tell you how humiliating that was? Being in kindergarten, and being the last one picked for the gym time basketball game (choosing one as an example)...it was terrible! Granted, I wasn't even tall enough, or skilled enough to get that ball into the net. Let alone throw it far enough to reach my teammate who was right next to our net. No wonder I was always picked last, I wouldn't have picked me either...


In our last post I learned what being blessed meant. Now for the next one!


Question: What does it mean to be chosen?


Eph. 1:4 KJV

"According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:"


Webster's 1828 Dictionary, please and thank you!

Chosen: 1. Selected from a number; picked out; taken in preference; elected; predestined; designated to office. 2. Select; distinguished by preference; eminent.


Surprisingly, I understand that definition without having to look up anything else! That doesn't happen often.


But what else does the bible say about being chosen?


In 1 Peter 2:4 and 9 KJV

vrs 4. "To whom coming, as unto a living stone, disallowed indeed of men, but chosen of God, and precious,"


vrs 9. "But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvelous light:"


The word chosen here, is from the Greek word 'ek-lek-tos', meaning: select; by implication favorite: chosen, elect.


But what does 'peculiar' mean?


Peculiar: one's own property, belonging to a person and to him alone. Particular; special.


Also in John 15:16 KJV

"Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you."


Answer: Being a child of God, I am chosen, I belong to Him alone! I am special to my Saviour. Even though in John 15:16, where is states that we did not choose Christ...He chose us anyway. He chose me! He hand picked me, selected me, took preference in me, I am a favorite of His...His peculiar treasure.


God chose me to be on His team! Didn't matter to Him if I wasn't good enough or skilled enough to be on it. He chose me anyway.


He chose me before He ever created the foundation of the world, though He knew, even then, that I would reject Him...yet He chose me anyway!


I am CHOSEN!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page