top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Take It

A 5 year old, curly haired, little girl sits at a banquet table, gazing over all the beautiful decorations. The plates, glasses, and more silverware than she's ever seen in her life. This night is a special occasion. She has won an award in school and was chosen to receive the award during this banquet, in front of dozens of school mates and their families.


Scanning across the rows and rows of spoons, knives and forks, she chooses the one that she deems fit for the job. Grasping the handle, lifting it to the right spot...and begins running it through her hair like Princess Ariel does with her dinglehopper.


Her parents are in shock and takes her new found brush and makes her go receive her reward off stage. Thrilled that her name was called, she walks to the person holding the microphone and award. Thanks them, grabs the award and returns to her seat. That easy. That quick. Painless and swift. She was beside herself because she received such a honor!


Yes, that little girl was me. And yes, this story comes up ALL the time. I was obsessed with Ariel and at that moment my hair needed combed. I thought so anyway.


But accepting that award was a great day for me. Honestly, without asking my parents, I couldn't tell you what the award was for. I just know I won and when my name was called I went and got my prize!


Just like the day I was saved. God had a gift for me, the gift of salvation. He had it waiting for me, calling my name to receive it. And when I took it from Him, it was so easy and so exciting! I had complete faith that once I took this gift, it was mine for eternity and God never would take it back. He has my soul locked tight and we will live forever in eternity.


If it's that easy, and we have faith in God that He will keep us from burning in Hell... Saved, sealed for eternity... Then why is it so hard to have faith that He will supply all our needs? To keep food on our table, to help you through your storm, to heal someone of cancer or an addiction.


I've heard people and myself say, "Oh, I'm saved for eternity!" Then turn around and say, "I don't know what I'm gonna do, I can't afford this right now."


We need to take God at His word! If we have the faith in God about our souls, (that will live forever somewhere) we should have no problem having faith in Him to take care of our problems here on earth. (That won't be here forever.)


It really is that easy, why do we make it so hard?

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page