top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Praise Him for the Storm

Updated: Aug 2, 2020

As a kid I never liked thunder storms. The loud crack of thunder frightened me and I'd get under the blankets. I never made much of a fuss though, just climbed beneath the covers and hid until morning.


During my teenage years I had a fun experience with a lightening storm. My mother and I could hear the wind whistling between the mountains where we lived. It was eerie and strange. We went outside and stood on the front steps leaning up to the trailer that we lived in. Both listening to the whirling sounds of the storm coming.


Then without warning, lightening struck the end of our trailer. We heard a loud crack and my right arm jolted and I instantly let go of the trailer. Stunned I looked over at my mother, who had the same look on her face and also holding her arm. Quickly, we both went inside for fear of the storm and to check on our physical well being.


We both had VERY different reactions to this experience. I stood there in the living room tapping my right arm, trying to get the feeling back into it, frightened that I would never feel anything again with it. While my mother waltzes into the kitchen and starts doing the dishes! Not seeming to even care about the fact that we were both were partially electrified. I stood there staring at her like a calf staring at a new gate. For a moment I thought it had melted my mother's brains. Was she going mad? My arm is numb and she's cleaning??


Later on I found out that she was too, just as scared as me. But she didn't want to frighten me anymore than I already was. And spoiler alert, we both have regained feeling in our arms and they work perfectly. But I've never liked storms. And you can see why. I mean one tried to kill me. I hate storms.


Well, hated storms. That has recently changed.


I was talking to a friend and thunder came up in the conversation. And I did my usual response: "I hate storms! No, thank you." He then showed me this...


"And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God."

Revelation 4:5 KJV


Thunder and lightening pictures the glory of God. He then told me that when it storms, he thinks to himself, that God needed to let some of his glory filter out. And that stuck with me. Ever since I had that conversation I've been waiting for a storm to show up. Days passed and I finally got one.


While I was at work the other day, I could hear the rain thrash against the roof of the building. Then like a loud crash, thunder shook the place. And I instantly smiled. I had fear for a moment, just for a moment. Then I was calm and thought about God's glory. With every clap of thunder after that, I smiled bigger and bigger. In the isle, as I put away merchandise, I sang 'Crown Him with Many Crowns' to myself and I felt like I was at church on Sunday morning.


The Holy Spirit and I were in that isle having good ole time and I loved every moment of it! Singing and the thunder, I was a giggly mess of emotions. As soon as I got to the break room I busted my prayer journal out and thanked God for that storm. I feel like he sent that storm just for me!


Then I got to thinking...


In life we have storms. Not physical rain and thunder storms. But spiritual storms or battles. Rough times where we really struggle with something. Big, nasty issues that feel like we aren't gonna make it out alive. Where we run and hide under those blankets and want to stay there till the storm passes. Stay there and wait for the wind and noise to disappear so we can walk out safe again.


But God says...


"Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee."

Deuteronomy 31:6 KJV


God is with us in the storm. He won't leave your side no matter how frightend you may get.


But maybe, just maybe...God let that storm happen. Just for you. To show you his awesome glory.


"Then they cry unto the Lord in their trouble, and he bringeth them out of their distresses. He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still."

Psalms 107:28‭-‬29 KJV


He will bring you through all the storms in your life. But God may have sent that storm to get you back on track. To show you where you need to get closer to him, testing your faith. Will you glorify and praise him through anything that gets thrown at you?


Sometimes, instead of thanking God for getting you through the storm... we should thank him FOR the storm. Praise him FOR the storm, praise him THROUGH the storm. Then praise him for getting you through it.


So today God sent me a storm. I praised him for it and I praised him through it. And I pray that when I have an actual storm come in my life, I can do the same as I did today.


Lord, thank you for that storm and showing me your glory and power.


"Crown Him with many crowns,

The lamb upon the throne:

Hark! How the heav'nly anthem drowns

All Music but its own!

Awake, my soul, and sing

Of Him who died for thee,

And hail him as thy matchless King

Through all eternity."


64 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page