top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

It's Alive!

Not long ago, in a time where fear and despair sustained my being, the bible was just words on a page. Words that flowed through my eyes and blurred somewhere in my cranium, never to be seen again. Lost in the land of forgetfulness and pride.


I was not the typical missionary kid, who has full books of the bible memorized and could quote the Proverbs with the drop of a hat. No, I was far from that. I didn't know my bible. I didn't study my bible. Let's be honest, I didn't even read it. I could care less.


…Typing that last sentence made me feel sick to even admit. But its the truth and I want people to know the truth.


I have observed my family and friends who are in love with the bible and how they spoke about it. I could not understand, even if my life depended on it. I wanted that. I truly wanted to understand what they saw in it, what they craved from it... What was I missing?? Its just a book full of words and stuff about Jesus. It was like I was reading a completely different book than they were.


But in a sense... I was.


To the lost and dying, on my way to Hell self...It was just a book full of meaningless words.


BUT... (brace yourself, shouting fit coming!)


When on April 26th, 2020, (my spiritual birthday, hallelujah!) those meaningless words on the pages became alive to me! I finally understood the look on my friends and family faces when they talk about God's Word. That longing for more, can't get enough, 'God speak to me' look that I've seen my entire life, but couldn't put words to. Me, Amanda, the one that 'could care less', FINALLY understands! All because I found Jesus and through Him, the Holy Spirit who teaches me through God's Word every day.


Its NOT just words on a page. Its God's Word, God's living Word. It's alive! It shows itself to me daily and I'm so thankful for that! My memory is lacking in so many areas, but I can remember where things are in His Word. I can remember verses, little things He's shown me, things my friends have pointed out. I remember them! Wanna know why? It's definitely not me, it's all Him!


Psalm 119:16 KJV - "I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget they word."


Delight yourself in Him, in what God wants for your life and He'll bring things back to your remembrance. I believe 100% that if you live a life for God, He won't let you forget what you need out of His Word.


The bible means so much to me now. I don't have enough words to explain to you just how much. If you are like I was, searching and looking for the reason people love the bible so much... Find Jesus, then everything else will fall into place and make sense. It will be the best thing you will ever do.


Thank you, Holy Spirit for bringing things back to me. Thank you Jesus, for not giving up on me. Thank you, God, for your Living Word!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page