top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Continue.

I love reading blogs and posts when the writer is so real, upfront and personable...so here goes my attempt at that.


Bible studying and getting alone to just read a verse of God's word is a very hard thing for me. I struggle with getting started and then fizzling out just a couple days into it. Especially now that I'm married. To be honest, I thought it was going to be so much easier to do once I was married and no public job to deal with...incorrect.


My attitude and all around look on life is so much different when I'm in my bible and keeping with it. My husband will attest to that, gotta love his ways of telling me so. (I love you, honey!) But he's right. I feel better, physically and mentally, I smile far more, and I have a joy about me! But I fail, stop and quit reading and studying, turning back into to my sinful ways of not reading God's word and ignoring God completely. Never finishing what I started. Breaking, yet again, another promise made in prayer that I won't quit again...


There are thousands upon thousands of words in the English language. All of which have their own personal definition or meaning.


Over the last couple of days, some of my friends have announced what their word of the year is. A word that they prayed that God would show them to use as a launching pad to grow them and use throughout the year. I wasn't necessarily looking for a word, or even prayed for one for that matter. But, I have been praying that I would get into my bible more this year and do it faithfully...unlike so many times before, like I was saying earlier.


During my first bible time of the year, God threw a word at me within minutes of starting.


"Continue"

James 1:25 KJV

"But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed."


God knows exactly what we need, when we need it. He knows how I am and how easily it is for me to stop doing something once I've started it. And here, screaming off the pages of my bible was God's way of telling me that I need to continue in His word, be a doer of His word and live joyfully. I love my bible time and enjoy every second of it! So why do I continue to stop instead of continue to do it?


With a new determination and everyone reading this as my accountability partners, I want to continue in God's word daily. Will life happen and I might miss a day here and there? Yes, of course. But putting it as a main priority will help to overcome that.


So, I'm jumping on the boat with having a word for the year. Continue.


Continue in God's word, in prayer, being faithful, to spread the gospel, living for Jesus.


Just continue.


 

"Lord, help me to continue...in all the things you have for me to do. Give me a determination greater than I already have. Strengthen me through Your word. Give me knowledge and wisdom as I go through your word and learn all I can about You and what You have for me. Shower Your grace and mercy upon me when I stumble... and thank You for always being there and willingly picking me up when I do." <3


51 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page