top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Changing the 'Nevers'

I was given the opportunity years ago to visit a farm that had two huge Belgium horses. One of which was getting measured my Guinness Book of World Records because he was possibly the worlds tallest. Talk about a massive creature! Once arriving at the farm, we were all given the chance to ride said beast of a horse. This horses name was Wilbur and he was the gentlest thing ever. How could something that large and scary looking be so sweet and kind is beyond me.


For one as short as myself, I was told I would need assistance to get on Wilbur for a ride. Which involved the ladies 6ft tall son throwing me up on top of Wilbur's back, where I had to grab a hold and not fall 9 feet back to the ground. Being intimidated and nervous about what would happen if I'd mess up and lose my grip, or do something wrong while the man was tossing me up to cause us both to fall, or Wilbur going crazy and smooshing us both... I had tons of different tings playing throughout my over imaginative brain.


I was the type of kid that never did anything like this. I was quiet, backwards, standoff-ish. But I stood there and shut off the thoughts I was having and told the man to toss me up there. I didn't think about it, I didn't hesitate, I trusted that this man would get me up there and I would hang on. I would never get this chance again in my lifetime and I wanted to experience it for myself, not from someone telling me about it.


Once I got on and Wilbur realized I was there, he started walking around the field slowly, showing me around. The view was amazing! Everyone looked so tiny from way up there. Riding Wilbur was like sitting on the sit a 50 gallon trash can, it was hard to fall off on accident because his back was so wide. I did not want to get off and go back to the ground.


After we left the farm my parents both informed me that they were shocked that I did that. It was so out of my comfort zone, so out of the norm for me. They were excited that I got out of my bubble and did something like that.


 

Now there are things in our lives that we would say, "I'm never doing that." But why?


Think of one thing that you said you would never do. You could sit and make your list of pros and cons of whatever your mind came up with or you could trust God and just do it.


I have said for years that I would never get on a plane unless it was going to Ireland. And that was more a joke, like yeah that might be what it takes to get me on a plane...but I highly doubt it. Like the chance to ride Wilbur, I was given the chance to go to Birmingham, AL for a few days. A trip that would have me on four different planes for several hours. I didn't question it. I said yes and trusted God that He would get me through it. I am terrified of heights, and don't do well on certain amusement park rides and I have terrible vertigo spells... So of course I was nervous.


Sitting by the window of this huge plane, waiting for take off...my nerves skyrocketed! I wanted off the plane... The two people I was with were talking and laughing, all excited about my first plane ride...and I was scared. That's when I realized I was thinking, and doubting God. So I began to pray.


"God, calm my nerves, You have me. Thank you for allowing me to have this chance, to change the things I said I would never do. To grow in You and trust You in everything that I do. You want this for my life, so be it. Thank You for changing my 'nevers'."


I shut the thoughts off of what 'could happen' and trusted God and His strength, not mine. His strength could get me through the sky at 37,000ft and back to earth safely. The peace that I had after that is indescribable. Four planes, one of which had bad turbulence and I bounced out of my seat. After the initial shock of what happened, I wasn't scared at all. I sat there and laughed about how loud of a noise I made. I had full trust in God that He alone would get me through whatever life throws at me.


There are a lot of things that I would NOT step out of my comfort zone to do for anyone or for anything. But I'm finding out that there are a lot of things that God wants me to do that I said I would NEVER do. And I'm so excited to do them for Him and to continue to change the 'nevers' with God by my side. I did not want the planes to land, being up there seeing God's creation from that view was breathtaking!


Faith in Him changes the way you will look at things, how you do things, where you'll go and people you will help. Because I put faith in Him for that plane ride and went on that trip, I have had so many blessings come from it! Trusting in God, doing His will and obeying Him will give you peace, joy and so much more!


I challenge you to change your 'nevers'. Ask God to show you where you can put your faith in Him and trust Him to get you through one of your 'nevers'.


Psalms 28:7 - "The LORD [is] my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him."

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page