top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

The Fragrance

I can't speak for anyone on this earth but myself, and therefore I will be speaking from experience and personal growth. I have had a lot of bitterness and anger in certain areas of my life. Pushing it down and behind the happy, cheerful thoughts, to override the hurt.


I have heard my Dad preach several times on bitterness and anger, and this is a quote he uses all the time...


"Bitterness towards someone is like drinking poison and expecting the person you're bitter at to die."

All you're doing there is killing yourself. I went a long time drinking that poison over and over, wanting it to effect other people and it did nothing to them. But to me, it left me angry, sad, upset, hurt, nights of no sleep and distant from others.


What good does that do? None at all.


Bitterness is a poison and it kills you daily. Bitterness stinks. The stench spills from you and out to other people. Those bitter thoughts and emotions aren't easily hidden and contained. It cripples your joy and leaves you hurting others without realizing it. Misery loves company, right?


I'm gonna get real... so stay with me.


I've spent too many times complaining and talking bad about certain people because of my bitterness. And all I'm doing is throwing my bitter words, thoughts and actions towards the people that hurt me and it bounces off the people close to me. Why would I enjoy making that stink? Who wants to be around all that stink?


I heard a quote recently that says...


"Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that crushed it." - Mark Twain

Ouch... that stings.


Am I smelling like a field of roses?....no. I probably smell more like a garbage heap, if we're being honest.


Sometimes it's hard to forgive someone. In a lot of cases, like mine, it takes years and a lot of heartache.


But I have God in my life now and He's showing me that forgiveness is not just His work. We all have to forgive.


"Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: and be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ's sake hath forgiven you." -Ephesians 4:31‭-‬32 KJV

We are to forgive like God has forgiven us. It's taken years and time, but I have given forgiveness and stopped drinking the poison. And it's such a relief! God is good and He gave me the strength and will to forgive, I could not do it on my own. It's a beautiful thing.


Instead of being angry everytime I think of the person, I can pray for them instead. Sweet fragrance instead of the garbage heap.

 

Is there someone you need to forgive? What fragrance are you giving off?

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page