top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Living in Drought?

Seven years ago, I ended up in the hospital because I thought I was having a heart attack. Long story short, it wasn't a heart attack, but it was something I needed to know about myself and I'm taking steps to be healthier every day because of it. Even seven years later.


But while I was there, the nurses could not get blood drawn for a blood test. I was so dehydrated that it took forever to fill just one vial. My blood was thick, like muddy, murky water... They ended up giving me two IV bags of fluid within a hour. While giving me cups of ice water on top of that. Needless to say I was in dire need of water and didn't realize it. I guess my daily dose of sweet tea and my addiction to Mt. Dew was the cause of this mishap. I was NOT drinking water like I needed to.


Sometimes it takes other parts of your body to hurt, to make you conscious of what your body actually needs. My heart showed me the problem, but it was my entire body that needed that water, and I needed it BAD! Once both IV bags was empty, I felt so much better. To this day, water is the main thing I drink, because I don't want to be in that shape again.


But I was in need of a different kind of water as well. For example like this Samarian Woman...


"There cometh a woman of Samaria to draw water: Jesus saith unto her, Give me to drink. (For his disciples were gone away unto the city to buy meat.) Then saith the woman of Samaria unto him, How is it that thou, being a Jew, askest drink of me, which am a woman of Samaria? for the Jews have no dealings with the Samaritans. Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water. The woman saith unto him, Sir, thou hast nothing to draw with, and the well is deep: from whence then hast thou that living water? Art thou greater than our father Jacob, which gave us the well, and drank thereof himself, and his children, and his cattle? Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. The woman saith unto him, Sir, give me this water, that I thirst not, neither come hither to draw."

John 4:7‭-‬15 KJV


Before I was saved, I was also dehydrated. In the spiritual sense. I didn't have God in my life as my Saviour and I was in dire need of Him. My addiction to sin was the problem here. It kept me from God and was pushing me further and further into a drought filled life, day by day. I hadn't tasted Water before in my life. I was a desert wasteland. But once I accepted Him as Saviour and God of my life, He gave me a drink of that Water and I will never thirst again!


I never fully realized how thirsty I was until I got a drink from the Living Water.


"In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink. He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water."

John 7:37‭-‬38 KJV


Are you looking for something in your life and not sure what it is? Are you thirsty and not sure what for? I can guarantee the answer to both of these questions, is Jesus. Stop depriving yourself of the Water that you need to survive and thrive in this wretched world. Stop living in a life of drought. Accept the Living Water (God) as your Saviour and start living a life that glorifies Him and let Him flow through of you.


"And the Lord shall guide thee continually, and satisfy thy soul in drought, and make fat thy bones: and thou shalt be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters fail not."

Isaiah 58:11 KJV


Are you filled with the Living Water or living in drought?

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page