top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

"God, send us a house..."

As most of you know, I was able to marry my best friend, Zane Meyer, on May 8th, 2021. I haven't spoke much on here about that, but I have so many stories I wish to tell you soon. So stay tuned for how God put us together. Until then...I want to tell you how good my God is in another way.


While I was still engaged to Zane, his plan was to have a house before we would get married, to move into after our wedding. He made that clear from the time we got together.


Time after time, nothing. We prayed that God would show us where He wanted us to be, city, state, etc. If it wasn't in Wheeling, W.V. than we were okay with it.


It was getting frustrating to us that we couldn't get any good prospects for a house. We had sat down together and discussed what price we would not go over and we refused to do it through a bank, we wanted a debt free home that we didn't have to worry about.


Faith, now known as my sister-in-law, had been telling me about a house she was helping to clean out. She told me the story of how the former owner had passed away and the new owner needed help to get it ready for sale. In my mind as she was telling me this story, I thought, "Maybe we could buy it." But I quickly got rid of the idea, the house she spoke of was in a business district, no way we could afford a house like that.


Throughout our courtship, I always walked Zane outside onto our porch where we would talk for another minute (or hour and a half...) and pray together before he would leave to go home. On this one night, we finally knew that God wanted us to stay in Wheeling to use as home base. But still no sign of a house anywhere...


We were both somewhat frustrated and Zane just looked up and said, "God, send us a house..." Then we prayed together and said our goodnights.


The very next morning...


Zane calls my Dad and wants him to look at a house with him. At the time I didn't know what house, but I was thankful we finally had one to even look at. That evening, I was stepping into the very house that his sister, Faith, had been helping clean. (I guess my thought wasn't too crazy of a thought after all.)


It was an old house that needed a lot of work done to it, but we didn't mind that. Walking through the house Zane and I talked about our set price that we wouldn't go over. We knew that if the price was higher than the one we had set, we knew God didn't want us here. But in my heart I knew God had sent us this house, there was no doubt in my mind. God was answering the prayer from last night. I knew from that day, that we were going to live in this place and make it our own.


We finished our walk through and talked to the owner. A few days went by and she gave us her selling price... It was lower than our set amount! God is good, isn't He?


Weeks went by, we were married, and we got the house inspected and nothing was terribly wrong with the place. So we moved forward in purchasing and closing on our 'new' house! We prayed and prayed for this house, and God dropped it in our hands out of no where. And we are so very thankful He did.


August 6th, 2021 we closed on our 'new' house. Completely debt free! God provided everything we needed to purchase this house, and I mean every penny. We could not have bought a house in a business district, of its size and this fast without His help and provision. Thank you, Lord, for it all!


There are a lot of things we have to fix with the house, renovate the bathroom and kitchen (Updates), paint everything, sand and polyurethane our hard wood floors. (God is good!!) And God will continue to provide as we go.


Psalm 37:25 KJV "I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread."


God will provide for his children. He knows exactly what we need, when we need it. We just need to trust and obey, have faith in Him. Expect great things from God.


Want to hear something else that was only possible because of God?... The cost of the house, lawyer and all the other fees we had to pay along with the house... were all together LOWER than our set price we would not go over.


Now, that's my God!


127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page