top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Give Up

There is a story of this little girl holding a tiny teddy bear. In front of her stands God asking her to give up this tiny bear. She says she doesn't want to give it up and holds it tight. But in God's hand hidden behind His back is a giant teddy bear, just waiting for her. But she doesn't trust God with it refuses to give it up, missing out on the blessing He has for her.


There were several areas in my life where I said I will never give that up. Why would I? I enjoyed it, it was fun, I loved all these things! Certain friends, certain objects, possessions, thoughts, flat out sin, whatever it may be. Things I didn't want to give up and I held on tight to them with everything I had.


I thought that God couldn't give me anywhere near what these things could give me. But the last six months have changed my perspective of this. There are areas in my life that I have completely given to God, trusted Him and said "God its yours, your will be done." And guess what?...


Ephesians 3:20 KJV "Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,"


God has blew my mind on so many levels! Giving up that area, what I thought was so important to me, made me realize that it wasn't important at all. It brought me closer to God, it made me happier, it gave me a reason to depend on Him and His strength, not mine. Because in my strength...well I would've picked those areas back up and ran with them. But in His strength, He gives me all I need and I don't want or need those silly things anymore.


God is all I need. Each and every day I live. I have been so blessed these passed few weeks. Because I believe 100% that if I hadn't given those things to God...I wouldn't have gotten a single one of those blessings. Nothing.


Sometimes we need to give up. Give up on holding tight to our 'perception' on how things are gonna be and let God show us how it can be. We can't physically see what God has for us down the road, but we can have faith and know that what He does have for us is far better than anything we have now. Far better than we can imagine for ourselves.


Take it from me... My life right now is so much better than I ever thought it would be. The people in my life, the work I get to do for Him, the exciting new road He's leading me down right now! But its only that way because I gave up and gave it to God. And I will be eternally thankful for where He has brought me and what He is doing in my life every day.


So, why don't you give up and give it to God?


Just imagine the possibilities...now throw that image away, because God has even better than that planned for you.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page