top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Meyer

Galatians (Part 2: ch 1 vs6-9)

We are back with part two of our journey through Galatians! Are you excited? ...I am! Let's get going, shall we?


"6. I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that called you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel: 7. Which is not another; but there be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ. 8. But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. 9. As we said before, so say I now again, if any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed." - Galatians 1:6-9 KJV


Paul was marveled that the people of Galatia were so quick to question and turn from what he was preaching. Paul was bringing them the truth and yet they were so messed up in their beliefs that they separated from him.


Here it sounds like to me that Paul was trying to convince them that him and others with him were, in fact, speaking truth. He says that if anyone preaches any other gospel then the one Paul was called to bring to them, that they should be accursed.


Accursed, separated, doomed to destruction or misery.


God's word is pure and whole. Changing His word to fit what you want it to say, is perverting the truth. Turning right into wrong. There were people who wanted to pervert the word of God, change the word of God to make themselves feel better. But Paul clearly states that if any one preach any other gospel than what they have already received, let him be accursed.


There are still people to this day changing the word of God. Why would they do that?


Conviction.


When we read the bible, the Living Word of God, it convicts us. It points out our flaws and our mistakes and our sin. It shows us what we need to fix in our life. That gut wrenching feeling of uncomfortableness when you read certain things in His word...that's conviction, and that's something you need to talk to God about. He's pointing out something to you, listen to Him!


Rearranging, taking out things and replacing things in God's word is NOT the way to handle conviction. Prayer, seeking God's will, and trusting God to help you get through what ever you are convicted about...that's how you take care of it.


In the passed ten months, I have found so many things that I have been convicted about in my life. One by one I gave them to God (sometimes it was a struggle, I will admit.) and let Him have the power over that area of my life. Its so freeing and amazing! If you haven't done this, I pray you do so you can know what victory feels like too.


But finding one thing after another to change and to fix...you know, I was getting really tired of changing. "Why do I need to fix this? Haven't I changed enough?" Then I was given this statement and it has helped me immensely...


The closer to God you get, the more His light shines and shows you things that you need to fix to become more like Him. The more like Him you become, the closer you get to God. If you stop getting closer to Him, His light won't shine and show you the things that you need to change to be more like Him. Stop drawing closer to Him, the changing stops.


I want to be more like God, I want to keep drawing closer to Him. And if that takes changes to happen in my life on a daily basis, then show me, Lord, what I need to change! Draw me nearer!


So in closing, what I'm trying to say is...


Don't change God's word to fit you and your life, change you and your life to fit God's word and become more like Him. Pervert not the word of God, preach the truth and become more like Jesus Christ!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page